**This NEW SHUTTLENWS report is presented by YANG YANG BADMINTON PRODUCTS and their Southern U.S.A. agents, SPORTSNET INTERNATIONAL (Email: Tel:713-771-8905/Fax:713-771-4446)**

August 22, 1997 (NEW SHUTTLENWS) - Dong Jiong of China and Heryanto Arbi of Indonesia, the world's top two badminton men's singles players, were both upset in today's round-robin stage matches at the World Cup in Yogyakarta, Indonesia.

Dong was defeated by Indonesia's Indra Wijaya 15-13, 12-15 and 13-15 in a very tight and fast-paced contest. Wijaya started out with a fast-paced game plan that featured plenty of jumpsmashing. Right from the beginning of the match, the Indonesian seized the initiative and tried to place Dong under pressure.

Dong, the world number one, ably countered Wijaya's attack in the first game and gained an 8-3 lead, before Wijaya's pressure tactics started to pay off. The Indonesian slowly climbed back into contention but Dong managed to turn him back at 14-13 and scored the game winner.

In the second, Dong again had the early advantage but again Wijaya's attack got the Indonesian a 12-all tie and then the lead at 13-12. Wijaya did not let up at won the game 15-12.

In the decider, Dong had the advantage once more at 10-5 and at 12-7. And once again, Wijaya's energetic play gained him a 12-all tie. Dong scored once more, but Wijaya regained the service and scored three times for the victory and a place in tomorrow's semifinals as the Group A winner.

In men's singles Group D, a listless and totally out-of-form Heryanto Arbi, the world number two, was demolished by Malaysia's Ong Ewe Hock 0-15 and 5-15.

In tomorrow's semifinals, Wijaya will play compatriot Joko Suprianto, the winner from Group B. Ong will battle China's Sun Jun, the Group C leader.

In men's doubles, Olympic champions Ricky Subagja and Rexy Mainaky of Indonesia, seeded second in Group B, defeated the group favourites Lee Dong Soo and Yoo Yung Sung of Korea, 15-6 and 15-7 to claim the Group B pennant.

Subagja and Mainaky will play the Group A runners-up Choon Tan Fook and Lee Wan Wah of Malaysia in the semifinals. Group A winners Chandra Wijaya and Budiarto Sigit, the current world champions, will face Lee and Yoo.

Results of the other matches today:

Men's Singles
Group A - Martin Lundgaard Hansen (Denmark) beat Jeroen van Dijk (Netherlands) 15-8 and 6-2 (van Dijk retired with injury)
Group B - Joko Suprianto (Indonesia) beat Pulella Gopichand (India) 15-6 and 15-7; Thomas Johansson (Sweden) beat Luo Yigang (China) 17-16 and 15-10
Group C - Sun Jun (China) beat Soren B. Nielsen (Denmark) 15-5 and 15-1; Ardy Wiranata (Indonesia) beat Tam Kai Chuen (Hong Kong) 15-2 and 15-4
Group D - Hwang Sun Ho (Korea) beat Darren Hall (England) by walkover

Women's Singles
Group A - Ye Zhaoying (China) beat Meiluawati (Indonesia) 9-11, 11-3 and 11-2
Group B - Kim Ji Hyun (Korea) beat Marina Andrievskaya (Sweden) 11-4 and 11-3
Group C - Lee Joo Hyun (Korea) beat Pornsawan Plungwech (Thailand) 11-7 and 11-1
Group D - Susi Susanti (Indonesia) beat Wang Chen (China) 11-8 and 11-7

Men's Doubles
Group A - Chandra Wijaya/Budiarto Sigit (Indonesia) beat Choong Tan Fook/Lee Wan Wah (Malaysia) 15-9 and 15-13; Tao Xiaoqiang/Ge Cheng (China) beat Peter Axelsson/Par-Gunnar Jonsson (Sweden) 15-6, 13-15 and 15-8
Group B - Simon Archer/Chris Hunt (England) beat Andrej Antropov/Nikolaj Zuev (Russia) 12-15, 15-7 and 15-7

Women's Doubles
Group A - Ge Fei/Gu Jun (China) beat Indarti Isolina/Finarsih (Indonesia) 15-6 and 15-2
Group B - Qin Yiyuan/Tang Yongshu (China) beat Rosiana Zelin/Eliza (Indonesia) 13-15, 15-11 and 15-4

Mixed Doubles
Group A - Imam Tohari/Ema Ermawati (Indonesia) beat Par-Gunnar Jonsson/Catrine Bengtsson (Sweden) 17-14 and 15-11
Group B - Limpele Flandy/Rosalina Riseu (Indonesia) beat Michael Keck (Germany)/Erica van den Heuvel (Netherlands) 15-13, 11-15 and 15-3

The group standings after the third and final day ( * before name indicates that the player or pair has qualified for the semifinals):

Men's Singles
Group A
*Indra Wijaya (Indonesia) - 3 wins/no losses
Dong Jiong (China) - 2 wins/1 loss
Martin Lundgaard-Hansen (Denmark) - 1 win/2 losses
Jeroen van Dijk (Netherlands) - no wins/3 losses

Group B
*Joko Suprianto (Indonesia) - 3 wins/no losses
Pullela Gopichand (India) - 2 wins/1 loss
Thomas Johansson (Sweden) - 1 win/2 losses
Luo Yigang (China) - no wins/3 losses

Group C
*Sun Jun (China) - 3 wins/no losses
Ardy Wiranata (Indonesia) - 2 wins/1 loss
Soren B. Nielsen (Denmark) - 1 win/2 losses
Tam Kai Chuen (Hong Kong) - no wins/3 losses

Group D
*Ong Ewe Hock (Malaysia) - 3 wins/no losses
Heryanto Arbi (Indonesia) - 2 wins/1 loss
Hwang Sun Ho (Korea) - 1 win/2 losses
Darren Hall (England) - no wins/3 losses

Women's Singles
Group A
*Ye Zhaoying (China) - 2 wins/no losses
Meiluawati (Indonesia) - 1 win/1 loss
Takako Ida (Japan) - no wins/2 losses

Group B
*Mia Audina (Indonesia) - 2 wins/no losses
Kim Ji Hyun (Korea) - 1 win/1 loss
Marina Andrievskaya (Sweden) - no wins/2 losses

Group C
*Gong Zhichao (China) - 2 wins/no losses
Lee Joo Hyun (Korea) - 1 win/1 loss
Pornsawan Plungwech (Thailand) - no wins/2 losses

Group D
*Susi Susanti (Indonesia) - 2 wins/no losses
Wang Chen (China) - 1 win/1 loss
Judith Meulendijks (Netherlands) - no wins/2 losses

Men's Doubles
Group A
*Chandra Wijaya/Budiarto Sigit (Indonesia) - 3 wins/no losses
*Choong Tan Fook/Lee Wan Wah (Malaysia) - 2 wins/1 loss
Ge Cheng/Tao Xiaoqiang (China) - 1 win/2 losses
Peter Axelsson/Par-Gunnar Jonsson (Sweden) - no wins/3 losses

Group B
*Ricky Subagja/Rexy Mainaky (Indonesia) - 3 wins/no losses
*Lee Dong Soo/Yoo Yung Sung (Korea) - 2 wins/1 loss
Chris Hunt/Simon Archer (England) - 1 win/2 losses
Andrej Antropov/Nikolaj Zuev (Russia) - no wins/3 losses

Women's Doubles
Group A
*Ge Fei/Gu Jun (China) - 2 wins/no losses
*Indarti Isolina/Finarsih (Indonesia) - 1 win/1 loss
Nicola Beck/Joanne Davies (England) - no wins/2 losses

Group B
*Tang Yongshu/Qin Yiyuan (China) - 2 wins/no losses
*Rosiana Zelin/Eliza (Indonesia) - 1 win/1 loss
Chen Li Chin/Tsai Huey Min (Taipei) - no wins/2 losses

Mixed Doubles
Group A
*Liu Yong/Ge Fei (China) - 2 wins/no losses
*Imam Tohari/Ema Ermawati (Indonesia) - 1 win/1 loss
Par-Gunnar Jonsson/Catrine Bengtsson (Sweden) - no wins/2 losses

Group B
*Trikus Heryanto/Minarti Timur (Indonesia) - 2 wins/no losses
*Limpele Flandy/Rosalina Riseu (Indonesia) - 1 win/1 loss
Michael Keck (Germany)/Erica van den Heuvel (Netherlands) - no wins/2 losses

Tomorrow's semifinal matches:

Men's Singles
Indra Wijaya (Indonesia) vs. Joko Suprianto (Indonesia)
Sun Jun (China) vs. Ong Ewe Hock (Malaysia)

Women's Singles
Ye Zhaoying (China) vs. Mia Audina (Indonesia)
Gong Zhichao (China) vs. Susi Susanti (Indonesia)

Men's Doubles
Chandra Wijaya/Budiarto Sigit (Indonesia) vs. Lee Dong Soo/Yoo Yung Sung (Korea)
Ricky Subagja/Rexy Mainaky (Indonesia) vs. Choong Tan Fook/Lee Wan Wah (Malaysia)

Women's Doubles
Ge Fei/Gu Jun (China) vs. Rosiana Zelin/Eliza (Indonesia) Qin Yiyuan/Tang Yongshu (China) vs. Indarti Isolina/Finarsih (Indonesia)

Mixed Doubles
Liu Yong/Ge Fei (China) vs. Limpele Flandy/Rosalina Riseu (Indonesia)
Trikus Heryanto/Minarti Timur (Indonesia) vs. Imam Tohari/Ema Ermawati (Indonesia)