** This NEW SHUTTLENWS report is presented by YANG YANG Badminton Products and their Eastern USA agents KCLeong Sports. HELP keep NEW SHUTTLENWS going - buy our sponsor's products. **


July 3, 1998 (NEW SHUTTLENWS) - There were two major shockers today at the Malaysian Open badminton championships in Penang - one in the men's singles round-of-16 and a second in the women's singles quarterfinals this evening. The first occurred when second-seed Ong Ewe Hock of Malaysian was defeated in a stunning reversal of form by Indonesian development squad player Rosobin Jeffer 15-0, 10-15 and 9-15.

Ong's loss to Jeffer was so stunning because the Malaysian had so thoroughly demolished the young Indonesian in the first game 15-0. Some observers said that Ong was too overconfident after the first game; other players said that Ong failed to adjust to the drift after the change of ends, while still others said that Jeffer started to anticipate Ong's shots. Perhaps it was all of the above and more.

The shock defeat so affected Ong that he was in tears and disconsolate after the match had ended.

The second shocker happened when Malaysian umpire How Heng Chiun penalized China's Yao Jie one point for using her foot to pass the shuttle over to top seed Camilla Martin of Denmark after she had lost the rally and the serve. The Dane was at match point in the third game of the closely-fought quarterfinal when the penalty was assessed on Yao without any warning. The gift point from the umpire gave Martin the victory and a place in the semifinals with a scoreline of 12-10, 5-11 and 11-9.

There were several other shockers today, although these were less stunning. Among these were the defeat of 1996 World Grand Prix Finals winner and recent U.S. Open champion Fung Permadi by Malaysia's Yong Hock Kin 4-15 and 15-18 in the quarterfinals of the men's singles event, mixed doubles second-seeds Jens Eriksen and Marlene Thomsen's loss to Indonesians Trikus Heryanto and Minarti Timur 13-15 and 2-15, also in the quarterfinals, the trouncing of men's doubles second-seeds Zhang Wei and Zhang Jun by Indonesians Tony Gunawan and Halim Jabbar 2-15 and 2-15, the defeat of men's doubles third-seeds Simon Archer and Chris Hunt at the hands of new Chinese pair Yang Ming and Chen Qiqui 11-15, 18-17 and 7-15, and the elimination of Olympic men's doubles bronze medalists Denny Kantono and Antonius Iriantho by Tan Kim Her and Rosman Razak of Malaysia 15-6, 6-15 and 16-18, both in the round-of-16.

Men's singles top-seed Peter Gade of Denmark remained in the running, as did men's doubles top-seeds Liu Yong and Yu Jinhao of China, women's doubles top picks Marlene Thomsen and Rikke Olsen of Denmark, and mixed doubles first seeds Michael Sogaard and Rikke Olsen.

Malaysian favorite Rashid Sidek also made it to the semifinals in the men's singles event, together with Yong Hock Kin. Their compatriots Choong Tan Fook and Lee Wan Wah also gained the semifinal stage in men's doubles.

Results of today's matches:

Men's Singles
Peter Gade Christensen (Denmark) beat Ismail Saman (Malaysia) 15-6, 15-8
Roslin Hashim (Malaysia) beat Chen Hong (China) 15-12, 15-11
Yong Hock Kin (Malaysia) beat Allan Tai (Malaysia) 15-4, 15-3
Fung Permadi (Taiwan) beat Chen Wei (China) 14-18, 15-9, 18-17
Rashid Sidek (Malaysia) beat Ng Kean Kok (Malaysia) 15-4, 15-10
Yap Yong Jyen (Malaysia) beat Nunung Subandoro (Indonesia) 4-15, 15-6, 15-5
Wong Choon Han (Malaysia) beat Budi Santoso (Indonesia) 15-12, 17-14
Rosobin Jeffer (Indonesia) beat Ong Ewe Hock (Malaysia) 0-15, 15-10, 15-9
Peter Gade Christensen (Denmark) beat Roslin Hashim (Malaysia) 15-3, 15-11
Yong Hock Kin (Malaysia) beat Fung Permadi (Taiwan) 15-4, 18-15
Rashid Sidek (Malaysia) beat Yap Yong Jyen (Malaysia) 15-2, 15-4
Rosobin Jeffer (Indonesia) beat Wong Choon Han (Malaysia) 15-6, 15-12

Women's Singles
Camilla Martin (Denmark) beat Yu Hua (China) 11-8, 1-11, 11-5
Yao Jie (China) beat Lee Joo Hyun (Korea) 11-12, 11-3, 12-9
Zhang Ning (China) beat Olivia (Indonesia) 11-4, 11-5
Tracy Hallam (England) beat Kelly Morgan (Wales) 11-5, 11-5
Gong Ruina (China) beat Chan Ya Lin (Taiwan) 11-1, 11-2
Zhou Mi (China) beat Lidia Djaelawidjaya (Indonesia) 11-6, 11-4
Yasuko Mizui (Japan) beat Lee Soon Douk (Korea) 12-11, 12-10
Dai Yun (China) beat Cindy Lim (Malaysia) 11-1, 11-1
Camilla Martin (Denmark) beat Yao Jie (China) 12-10, 5-11, 11-9
Zhang Ning (China) beat Tracy Hallam (England) 11-5, 11-2
Zhou Mi (China) beat Gong Ruina (China) 15-6, 15-2
Dai Yun (China) beat Yasuko Mizui (Japan) 11-5, 11-8

Men's Doubles
Liu Yong/Yu Jinhao (China) beat Hermono/Hiang Eng (Indonesia) 10-15, 15-6, 15-4
Siripong Siripol/Pramote Teerawiwatana (Thailand) beat Chew Choon Eng/ Lee Chee Leong (Malaysia) 15-12, 15-9
Jens Eriksen/Jesper Larsen (Denmark) beat Kang Kyung Jin/Ha Tae Kwon (Korea) 8-15, 18-14, 15-12
Choong Tan Fook/Lee Wan Wah (Malaysia) beat Chang Hang Li/Ho Li Wei (Taiwan) 15-1, 15-9
Tan Kim Her/Rosman Razak (Malaysia) beat Denny Kantono/Antonius Iriantho (Indonesia) 6-15, 15-6, 18-16
Yang Ming/Chen Qiqui (China) beat Chris Hunt/Simon Archer (England) 15-11, 17-18, 15-7
Jim Laugensen/Thomas Stavngaard (Denmark) beat Pang Cheh Chang/Cheah Soon Thoe (Malaysia) 15-7, 15-9
Tony Gunawan/Halim Jabar (Indonesia) beat Zhang Wei/Zhang Jun (China) 15-2, 15-2
Liu Yong/Yu Jinhao (China) beat Siripong Siripol/Pramote Teerawiwatana (Thailand) 15-12, 15-8
Choong Tan Fook/Lee Wan Wah (Malaysia) beat Jens Eriksen/Jesper Larsen (Denmark) 15-3, 15-12
Yang Ming/Chen Qiqui (China) beat Tan Kim Her/Rosman Razak 15-9, 15-13
Tony Gunawan/Halim Jabbar (Indonesia) beat Jim Laugensen/Thomas Stavngaard (Denmark) 15-6, 7-15, 15-5

Women's Doubles
Marlene Thomsen/Rikke Olsen (Denmark) beat Zhang Ning/Yu Hua (China) 15-8, 17-14
Yang Wei/Huang Nanyan (China) beat Joanne Goode/Donna Kellogg (England) 15-6, 15-3
Chen Lin/Jiang Xuelian (China) beat Haruko Matsuda/Yoshiko Iwata (Japan) 17-14, 15-6
Eliza Nathanael/Rosiana Zelin (Indonesia) beat Zhou Mi/Gong Ruina (China) 15-8, 15-1

Mixed Doubles
Michael Sogaard/Rikke Olsen (Denmark) beat Nathan Robertson/Joanne Davies (England) 15-0, 12-15, 17-14
Chris Hunt/Donna Kellogg (England) beat Imam Tohari/Ema Ermawati (Indonesia) 17-15, 10-15, 15-7
Bambang Supranto/Rosalina Riseu (Indonesia) beat Darryl Young/Robbyn Hermitage (Canada) 15-5, 15-4
Ha Tae Kwon/Chung Jae Hee (Korea) beat Chew Choon Eng/Lim Pek Siah 15-5, 15-8
Jesper Larsen/Ann Jorgensen (Denmark) beat Tesana Panvisvas/Saralee Thungthongkam (Thailand) 15-11, 15-9
Simon Archer/Joanne Goode (England) beat Agung/Anastasia (Indonesia) 15-10, 15-4
Trikus Heryanto/Minarti Timur (Indonesia) beat Liu Yong/Dai Yun (China) 15-4, 15-4
Jens Eriksen/Marlene Thomsen (Denmark) beat John Pearson/Sarah Hardaker (England) 15-0, 15-3
Michael Sogaard/Rikke Olsen (Denmark) beat Chris Hunt/Donna Kellogg (England) 15-4, 15-3
Ha Tae Kwon/Chung Jae Hee (Korea) beat Bambang Supranto/Rosalina Riseu (Indonesia) 15-10, 17-15
Simon Archer/Joanne Goode (England) beat Jesper Larsen/Ann Jorgensen (Denmark) 15-3, 15-2
Trikus Heryanto/Minarti Timur (Indonesia) beat Jens Eriksen/Marlene Thomsen (Denmark) 15-13, 15-2