** This NEW SHUTTLENWS report is presented by YANG YANG Badminton Products and their Western USA agents Badminton Alley. Keep NEW SHUTTLENWS going - BUY our sponsor's products. **


August 13, 1998 (NEW SHUTTLENWS) - Current men's singles world number one Peter Gade of Denmark recovered from a first game setback in today's third round action at the Singapore Konica Open and beat Heryanto Arbi, the 1995 world champion from Indonesia, 13-15, 15-5 and 15-13. With his win, the top-seeded Dane advanced to the quarterfinals.

Second seed Sun Jun of China defeated Roslin Hashim of Malaysia 15-13 and 1503 to keep pace with Gade.

Third seed Luo Yigang of China did not fare as well. He was upended by Wong Choon Hann of Malaysia 4-15, 15-12 and 10-15.

In men's doubles, the second seeds Zhang Wei and Zhang Jun from China were the victims of another upset. Zhang and Zhang were defeated by Limpele Flandy and Hian Eng of Indonesia 13-15, 15-17 and 5-15.

Fifth seeds Choong Tan Fook/Lee Wan Wah of Malaysia also were upended. They lost to 1998 U.S. Open champions Horng Shin-Jeng and Lee Wei-Jen of Taiwan 15-4, 13-15 and 12-15.

Some of today's results:

Women's Singles
Third Round
Camilla Martin (Denmark) beat Linda Djaelawijaya (Indonesia) 7-11, 11-3, 11-6
Cindana Hartono (Indonesia) beat Li Li (Singapore) 11-3, 11-6
Zhang Ning (China) beat Margit Borg (Sweden) 13-11, 11-2
Susi Susanti (Indonesia) beat Woon Sze Mei (Malaysia) 11-1, 11-1
Zeng Yaqiong (China) beat Ellen Engelina (Indonesia) 4-11, 11-5, 11-4
Ye Zhaoying (China) beat Meiluawati (Indonesia) 11-2, 11-1
Mia Audina (Indonesia) beat Zhou Mi (China) 11-8, 11-6
Gong Zhichao (China) beat Wong Miew Kheng (Malaysia) 11-7, 11-3

Men's Doubles
Second round
Tony Gunawan/Haryanto Halim (Indonesia) beat Ruud Kuitjen/Wilfrid Vranken (Belgium) 15-1, 15-4
Chan Huan Chun/Hong Chien Hun (Malaysia) beat Tan Sian Peng/Patrick Lau Kim Pong (Singapore) 17-14, 15-7 Horng Shin-Jeng/Lee Wei Jen (Taiwan) beat Choong Tan Fook/Lee Wan Wah (Malaysia) 4-15, 15-13, 15-12
Chen Wei/Ji Xinpeng (China) beat Ilkka Nyquist/Ville Kinnunen (Finland) 5-15, 17-14, 15-11
Siripong Siripool/Pramote Teerawiwatana (Thailand) beat Dicky Purwotsugiono/ Dennis Ho Yeow Nam (Singapore) 15-5, 15-4
Pang Cheh Chang/Cheah Soon Thoe (Malaysia) beat Richard Toh Thiam Heng/ Derek Ho Yew Kee (Singapore) 15-2, 15-3
Chandra Wijaya/Budiarto Sigit (Indonesia) beat Tay Zi Yang/Tan Chee Keong (Singapore) 15-1, 15-0
Chew Choon Eng/Lee Chee Leong (Malaysia) beat Nunung Wibiyanto/Basri Mohammad Malik (Singapore) 15-7, 15-3
Tan Kim Her/Razak Rosman (Malaysia) beat Ma Che Kong/Harjono Cun Cun (Hong Kong) 14-17, 15-9, 15-11
Quinten Van Dalm/Dennis Lens (Netherlands) beat Jian Shih-Jin/Tseng Chong-Lin (Taiwan)
15-4, 15-4 Chang Kim Wai/Khoo Kok Kheng (Malaysia) beat Patrick Booden/David Van De Winkel (Belgium) 15-3, 15-3
Ricky Subagja/Rexy Mainaky (Indonesia) beat Wong Kong Kay/Timothy Kam (Singapore) 15-1, 15-4
Khunakorn Sudhisodhi/Kitipon Kitikul (Thailand) beat Huang Shin-Ching/Chien Yu-Hsun (Taiwan) 15-9, 15-5
Denny Kantono/Antonius Budi Iriantho (Indonesia) beat Chan Chong Ming/Jeremy Gan (Malaysia) 0-15, 15-3, 15-6
Limpele Flandy/Eng Hian (Indonesia) beat Jaseel Ismail/Vincent Lobo (Indonesia) 17-14, 15-9
Zhang Wei/Zhang Jun (China) beat Loh Sien Kang/Lim Shuen (Singapore) 15-0, 15-2

Men's Singles
Third Round
Peter-Gade Christensen (Denmark) beat Heryanto Arbi (Indonesia) 13-15, 15-5, 15-13
Dong Jiong (China) beat Rashid Sidek (Malaysia) 15-7, 15-6
Yong Hock Kin (Malaysia) beat Marleve Mainaky (Indonesia) 15-12, 11-15, 15-11
Hendrawan (Indonesia) beat Fung Permadi (Taiwan) 15-7, 15-8
Ong Ewe Hock (Malaysia) beat Nunung Subandoro (Indonesia) 15-7, 13-15, 15-9
Poul-Erik Hoyer-Larsen (Denmark) beat Budi Santoso (Indonesia) 15-13, 15-3
Sun Jun (China) beat Roslin Hashim (Malaysia) 15-13, 15-3
Wong Choon Hann (Malaysia) beat Luo Yigang (China) 15-4, 12-15, 15-10

Men's Doubles
Third Round
Tony Gunawan/Haryanto Halim (Indonesia) beat Chan Huan Chun/Hong Chieng Hun (Malaysia) 15-1, 15-0
Chen Wei/Ji Xinpeng (China) beat Horng Shin-Jeng/Lee Wei-Jen (Taiwan) 15-13, 15-10
Siripong Siripool/Pramote Teerawiwatana (Thailand) beat Pang Cheh Chang/Cheah Soon Thoe (Malaysia) 15-6, 8-15, 15-4
Chandra Wijaya/Budiarto Sigit (Indonesia) beat Chew Choon Eng/Lee Chee Leong (Malaysia) 15-5, 15-7
Tan Kim Her/Razak Rosman (Malaysia) beat Quinten Van Dalm/Dennis Lens (Netherlands) 15-5, 15-6
Ricky Subagja/Rexy Mainaky (Indonesia) beat Chang Kim Wai/Khoo Kok Kheng (Malaysia) 15-5, 15-1
Denny Kantono/Antonius Budi Iriantho (Indonesia) beat Khunakom Sudhasodhi/ Kitipon Kitikul (Thailand) 17-14, 15-7
Limpele Flandy/Eng Hian (Indonesia) beat Zhang Wei/Zhang Jun (China) 15-13, 15-17, 15-5

Women's Doubles
Third Round
Ge Fei/Gu Jun (China) beat Law Pei Pei/Joanne Quay (Malaysia) 15-1, 15-6
Eliza/Denyana Lomban (Indonesia) beat Sujitra Ekmongkolpaisarn/Saralee Toongthongkam (Thailand) 15-5, 15-1
Nicole Van Hooren/Lotte Jonathans (Netherlands) beat Tung Chau Man/Chan Mei Mei (Hong Kong) 15-5, 15-9
Lim Peck Siah/Chor Hooi Yee (Malaysia) beat Zhang Ning/Zhou Mi (China) 9-15, 15-11, 15-12
Huang Sui/Lu Ying (China) beat Ishwari Boopathy/Woon Sze Mei (Malaysia) 15-1, 15-5
Chen Li-Chin/Tsai Huey-Min (Taiwan) beat Pooja Parekh/Madhavi Kasikar (India) 15-4, 15-1
Qin Yiyuan/Tang Yongshu (China) beat Seah Cyn Yi/Toh Wee Kia (Singapore) 15-0, 15-3
Ann Jorgensen/Majken Vange (Denmark) beat Carmelita/Etti Tantry (Indonesia) 15-13, 15-13