** This NEW SHUTTLENWS report is presented by YANG YANG Badminton Products and their Western USA agents Badminton Alley. Keep NEW SHUTTLENWS going - BUY our sponsor's products. **


October 14, 1998 (NEW SHUTTLENWS) - Peter Gade of Denmark, the world's number one-ranked men's singles badminton player, barely broke into a sweat today at the Danish Open championships in Vejle when when he beat Tryggvi Nielsen of Iceland 15-1 and 15-1 in a first-round match. It took Gade only 20 minutes to dispose of the outclassed player from Iceland.

Dong Jiong of China, the second seed at the tournament, also won his first round match although he had a tougher time against Denmark's Kasper Fangel. Dong gave up 11 points in the first game and 9 in the second, before he finished the Danish player off.

Roslin Hashim of Malaysia, men's singles winner at last week's Dutch Open, took three sets to eliminate Peter Janum of Denmark 15-6, 14-17 and 15-4.

Danish favorite Poul-Erik Hoyer, seeded third, easily defeated Conrad Huckstadt of Germany 15-1 and 15-5, while Thomas Stuer, the 1996 Danish Open champion who is playing in his first international tournament after a lengthy injury layoff, demolished Seiichi Watanabe of Japan 15-2 and 15-1.
Following are the results of some of the other matches at the first day of competition at the four-star Danish Open badminton championships being held in Vejle:

Rasmus Wengberg (Sweden) beat Antti Viitikko (Finland) 7-15, 15-11, 15-11
Taufik Hidayat (Indonesia) beat Jurgen Koch (Austria) 12-15, 15-9, 15-5
Joachim Fischer (Denmark) beat Pawel Kaczynski (Poland) 15-10, 15-0
Tomas Johansson (Sweden) beat Martin Delfs (Denmark) 15-9, 15-10
Ismail Saman (Malaysia) beat Anders Boesen (Denmark) 6-15, 15-3, 15-12
Chen Hong (China) beat Claus Jensen (Denmark) 15-2, 15-1
Gerben Bruijstens (Netherlands) beat Alexander Book (Finland) 15-6, 15-3
Kenneth Jonassen (Denmark) beat Per-Henrik Croona (Sweden) 15-10, 15-7
Lee Tsuen Seng (Malaysia) beat Ji Xinpeng (China) 15-13, 15-12
Oliver Pongratz (Germany) beat Fumihiko Machida (Japan) 15-12, 15-9
Nunung Subandoro (Indonesia) beat Frederik Koehler (Denmark) 15-11, 15-6
Tjitte Weistra (Netherlands) beat Jacek Niedzwiedzki (Poland) 15-4, 15-7
Henrik Bengtsson (Sweden) beat Colin Haughton (Britain) 15-8, 15-6
Marcus Jansson (Sweden) beat Soren Hansen (Denmark) 17-16, 10-15, 15-11