** This NEW SHUTTLENWS report is presented by YANG YANG Badminton Products and their Western USA agents Badminton Alley. Keep NEW SHUTTLENWS going - BUY our sponsor's products. **


October 15, 1998 (NEW SHUTTLENWS) - Thomas Stuer-Lauridsen of Denmark, a bronze medal winner at the 1992 Olympic Games, today defeated the bronze medal winner from the 1996 Games, Rashid Sidek of Malaysia, in one of the third round men's singles matches at the Danish Open badminton tournament being staged in Vejle. Stuer, who is making a comeback attempt after a long injury-caused layoff, beat a below-par Sidek 15-9 and 15-6.

Stuer's comeback faces another Olympic medal test in the quarterfinals where he will battle felow Dane Poul-Erik Hoyer, the 1996 Olympic gold medalist.

Hoyer today defeated Dicky Palyama of Netherland 15-4 and 15-10 to book his place in the quarterfinals.

Top-seed Peter Gade of Denmark also moved into the quarterfinals together with second-seed Dong Jiong of China, Tomas Johansson of Sweden, Kenneth Jonassen of Denmark, Henrik Bengtsson of Sweden, and Wong Choon Hann of Malaysia.

Gade struggled past Indonesia's Taufik Hidayat in three games 15-8, 10-15 and 15-7, while Dong beat Rikard Magnusson of Sweden 15-11 and 15-8.

Johansson battled back after a 5-15 first game drubbing from Chen Hong of China to take the next two sets with identical 15-11, 15-11 scores and claim a quarerfinal spot.

Jonassen defeated Oliver Pongratz of Germany 15-12 and 15-0, and Wong upset 1995 world champion Heryanto Arbi of Indonesia 12-15, 15-11 and 15-10.

Bengtsson also was an upset winner. He put out Roslin Hashim of Malaysia, the men's singles winner of last week's Dutch Open, 15-11 and 17-14.

In women's singles, current world champion Ye Zhaoying of China beat Denmark's Christina Sorensen 11-3 and 11-3 to move into the quarterfinals. Second seed Camilla Martin of Denmark defeated Brenda Beenhakker of Netherland 11-4 and 11-0.

Third seed Mia Audina of Indonesia eliminated Germany's Nicole Grether 11-0 and 11-1, while fourth seed Yasuko Mizui from Japan humbled Anne Sondergaard of Denmark 11-1 and 11-1.

Mette Sorensen of Denmark, Karolina Ericsson and Margit Borg of Sweden, and Julia Mann of England are the others who booked women's singles quarterfinal places.

Sorensen beat teammate Tine Rasmussen 11-4 and 11-1, Ericcson upset fifth seed Mette Pedersen of Denmark 3-11, 13-10 and 11-5, Borg put out Woon Sze Mei of Malaysia 11-6 and 11-5, and Mann defeated Johanna Holgersson of Sweden 11-6 and 13-11.

Earlier in the day, Camilla Martin beat China's Yao Jie, a finalist at last week's Dutch Open, 11-6 and 11-6. Mizui battled past Zhou Mi of China, the newly crowned Dutch Open champion, 6-11, 11-4 and 11-8.

Mette Sorensen put out Han Jingna 11-9 and 11-1 to reduce the usually strong and dominant Chinese women to a single remaining entry in the women's singles event - Ye Zhaoying.

In the quarterfinals of the mixed doubles event played late today, top-seeds Michael Sogaard and Rikke Olsen of Denmark prevailed over fellow Danes Janek Roos and Helene Kirkegaard 15-3 and 15-13. Second seeds Jens Eriksen and Marlene Thomsen, another Danish pair, beat Chris Bruil and Erica Van Den Heuvel of Netherland.

A third Danish pair, Jon Holst-Christensen and Ann Jorgensen, stopped the tough and highly-favored Indonesian tandem of Trikus Heryanto and Minarti Timur 15-2 and 15-7.

England's Simon Archer and Joanne Goode defeated Denmark's Lars Paaske and Jane Bramsen 15-9 and 15-9 in the remaining quarterfinal match.

In the men's doubles event, England's Julian Robertson and Nathan Robertson upset middle seeds Jim Laugesen and Thomas Stavngaard of Denmark 15-9, 4-15 and 15-10 in a first round matchup.

Some of today's other results:

Second Round
Peter Gade (Denmark) beat Rasmus Wengberg (Sweden) 15-4, 15-10
Taufik Hidayat (Indonesia) beat Joachim Fischer (Denmark) 15-2, 15-7
Tomas Johansson (Sweden) beat Ismail Saman (Malaysia) 15-9, 15-8
Chen Hong (China) beat Gerben Bruijstens (Netherlands) 15-4, 15-8
Kenneth Jonassen (Denmark) beat Lee Tsuen Seng (Malaysia) 13-15, 15-12, 15-8
Oliver Pongratz (Germany) beat Nunung Subandoro (Indonesia) 15-13, 15-7
Roslin Hashim (Malaysia) beat Tjitte Weistra (Netherlands) 15-2, 13-15, 15-8
Henrik Bengtsson (Sweden) beat Marcus Jansson (Sweden) 15-8, 15-0
Thomas Stuer (Denmark) beat Chen Wei (China) 15-10, 15-13
Rashid Sidek (Malaysia) beat Kasper Oedum (Denmark) 15-8, 15-13
Dicky Palyama (Netherland) beat Michael Logosz (Poland) 15-2, 15-4
Poul-Erik Hoyer (Denmark) beat Kevin Han (USA) 15-7, 15-6
Wong Choon Hann (Malaysia) beat Shinji Ohta (Japan) 15-4, 15-5
Heryanto Arbi (Indonesia) beat Martin Hagberg (Sweden) 8-15, 15-12, 15-3
Rikard Magnusson (Sweden) beat Mikael Carlsson (Sweden) 15-6, 15-2
Dong Jiong (China) beat Pullela Gopi Chand (India) 15-2, 15-11

First Round
Ye Zhaoying (China) beat Kyoko Kumuro (Japan) 11-7, 11-3
Christina Sorensen (Denmark) beat Carolien Glebbeek (Netherland) 10-13, 11-5, 11-7
Karolina Ericsson (Sweden) beat Joanna Sziesynska (Poland) 11-9, 11-3
Mia Audina (Indonesia) beat Judith Meulendijks (Netherland) 11-1, 11-7
Nicole Grether (Germany) beat Marina Andrievskaya (Sweden) 11-5, 8-11, 11-8
Tine Rasmussen (Denmark) beat Tracy Hallam (England) 13-10, 8-11, 13-10
Woon Sze Mei (Malaysia) beat Katarzyna Krasowska (Poland) 9-11, 11-8, 11-4
Margit Borg (Sweden) beat Lonneke Janssen (Netherland) 11-3, 5-11, 11-8
Anne Sondergaard (Denmark) beat Anu Weckstrom (Finland) 11-8, 11-2
Johanna Holgersson (Sweden) beat Law Pei Pei (Malaysia) 11-2, 11-3
Julia Mann (England) beat Anika Seitz (Germany) 11-2, 11-0
Brenda Beenhakker (Netherland) beat Katja Michalowsky (Germany) 13-10, 11-3

First Round
Tony Gunawan/Heryanto Halim (Indonesia) beat Shinji Ohta/Takuya Takehana (Japan) 15-5, 15-2
Jens Eriksen/Jesper Larsen (Denmark) beat K. Petersen/M. Mejndor (Denmark) 15-1, 15-6
Rexy Mainaky/Ricky Subagja (Indonesia) beat Rosman Razak/Chang Kim Wai (Malaysia) 15-5, 15-6
Simon Archer/Chris Hunt (England) beat Jurgen Koch/Harald Koch (Austria) 15-4, 15-2
Zhang Wei/Zhang Jun (China) beat Ove Svejstrup/Peder Nissen (Denmark) 15-7, 15-10
Limpele Flandy/Hian Eng (Indonesia) beat Martin Lundgaard Hansen/Michael Lamp (Denmark) 15-7, 15-4

First Round
Yang Wei/Huang Nanyan (China) beat Katja Wengberg/Pernilla Pariola (Sweden) 15-1, 15-1
Marlene Thomsen/Rikke Olsen (Denmark) beat Webke Schrempf/Heike Schoenharting (Germany) 15-2, 15-0
Ye Zhaoying/Han Jingna (China) beat Anna Nilsson/Tine Nielsen (Denmark) 15-2, 15-5