** HELP!!! Keep NEW SHUTTLENWS going - BUY our sponsor's products. **

Men's Doubles - First Day Results

** This NEW SHUTTLENWS report is presented by YANG YANG Badminton Products and their Western USA agents BADMINTON ALLEY. **

March 11, 1999 (NEW SHUTTLENWS) - Following are some unofficial results of yesterday's opening day men's doubles matches at the one hundredth All-England Open badminton championships being held at the National Indoor Arena in Birmingham, England:

Men's Doubles
First Round
Joachim Fischer and Kasper Oedum (Denmark) beat Mike Beres and Bryan Moody (Canada) 17-14, 15-11
Alastair Gatt and Craig Robertson (Scotland) beat Simone Vincenzi and Enrico Galeani (Italy) 15-4, 15-7
Ha Tae Kwon and Kim Dong Moon (Korea) beat Jesper Mikla and Lars Paaske (Denmark) 15-9, 15-4
Zhang Wei and Zhang Jun (China) beat Tadashi Ohtsuka and Keita Masuda (Japan) 15-3, 15-3
Michael Helber and Bjorn Siegemund (Germany) beat Jaseel Ismail and Vincent Lobo (India) 15-7, 8-15, 15-3
Simon Archer and Nathan Robertson (England) beat Kim Dae Keun and Kim Yong Hyun (Korea) 15-4, 15-10
Ian Sullivan and Anthony Clark (England) beat Patrick Boonen and David Vandewinkel (Belgium) 15-6, 15-4
Wang Wei and Chen Qiqiu (China) beat Svetoslav Stojanov and Michail Popov (Bulgaria) 15-6, 15-2
Chan Chong Ming and Jeremy Gan (Malaysia) beat Neil Waterman and John Quinn (England) 15-11, 11-15, 15-4
Shinji Ohta and Takuya Takehana (Japan) beat Ali Book and Antti Viitikko (Finland) 15-8, 15-3
Denny Kantono and Antonius Ariantho (Indonesia) beat Bobby Milroy and Will Milroy (Canada) 15-4, 15-4
Lee Dong Soo and Yoo Yung Sung (Korea) beat Graham Hurrell and Peter Jeffrey (England) 15-7, 15-3
Chris Hunt and Julian Robertson (England) beat Jonas Rasmussen and Ove Svejstrup (Denmark) 15-11, 12-15, 15-3
Iain Sydie and Brent Olynyk (Canada) beat Mike Joppien and Andreas Woelk (Germany) 7-15, 15-7, 15-2
Kenny Middlemiss and Russell Hogg (Scotland) beat Kasper Fangel and Frederik Kohler (Denmark) 15-12, 15-11
Chew Choon Eng and Lee Wan Wah (Malaysia) beat Martin Lundgaard and Michael Lamp (Denmark) 15-11, 15-11


Posted With The Permission Of The Copyright Holder.