** HELP!!! Keep NEW SHUTTLENWS going - BUY our sponsor's products. **

All-England: Koreans Knock Ricky and Rexy Out

** This NEW SHUTTLENWS report is presented by YANG YANG Badminton Products and their Western USA agents BADMINTON ALLEY. **

March 12, 1999 (NEW SHUTTLENWS) - Ricky Subagja and Rexy Mainaky of Indonesia, the 1996 Olympic men's doubles champions and one of the best combinations in the world, were eliminated yesterday from the one hundredth running of the All-England Open badminton championships in Birmingham by the hot Korean pair of Ha Tae Kwon and Kim Dong Moon. Ha and Kim, winners of the Swedish Open title last week, put out the Olympic champions in two games 15-8 and 17-15 in a third round match.

Also forced to the sidelines yesterday were Denny Kantono and Antonius of Indonesia, the recently crowned Grand Prix Finals men's doubles champions. Kantono and Antonius were beaten by defending All-England titleists Lee Dong Soo and Yoo Yung Sung of Korea in the second round 17-14 and 15-7.

The biggest upset though came in the third round matchup between the pairing of Flandy Limpele and Eng Hian of Indonesia, seeded second, and the Malaysian combination of Chew Choon Eng and Lee Wan Wah. Chew and Lee surprised the Indonesians by coming back from an 8-15 first game setback to win the second 15-12 and then to outsteady them in a tightly contested decider 17-14.

Following are the unofficial results of today's doubles matches at the All-England:

Men's Doubles
Second Round
Cheah Soon Kit and Choong Tan Fook (Malaysia) beat Lee Clapham and Mark King (England) 15-1, 15-1
Joachim Fischer and Kasper Oedum (Denmark) beat Alastair Gatt and Craig Robertson (Scotland) 15-12, 13-15, 15-6
Ricky Subagja and Rexy Mainaky (Indonesia) beat Norbert Van Barneveld and Jurgen Van Leeuwen (Netherland) 15-2, 15-7
Ha Tae Kwon and Kim Dong Moon (Korea) beat Zhang Wei and Zhang Jun (China) 15-7, 15-6
Chandra Wijaya and Tony Gunawan (Indonesia) beat Janek Roos and Thomas Stavngaard (Denmark) 15-4, 15-12
Simon Archer and Nathan Robertson (England) beat Michael Helber and Bjorn Siegemund (Germany) 15-13, 15-6
Jens Eriksen and Jesper Larsen (Denmark) beat Siripong Siripol and Pramote Teerawiwatana (Thailand) 15-5, 15-1
Wang Wei and Chen Qiqiu (China) beat Ian Sullivan and Anthony Clark (England) 10-15, 15-7, 17-14
Chan Chong Ming and Jeremy Gan (Malaysia) beat Shinji Ohta and Takuya Takehana (Japan) 15-5, 15-10
Dennis Lens and Quinten Van Dalm (Netherland) beat Liu Yong and Yu Jinhao (China) 10-15, 15-7, 17-14
Lee Dong Soo and Yoo Yung Sung (Korea) beat Denny Kantono and Antonius Budi Ariantho (Indonesia) 17-14, 15-7
Michael Sogaard and Jim Laugessen (Denmark) beat Joachim Tesche and Sebastian Ottrembka (Germany) 15-3, 15-5
Chris Hunt and Julian Robertson (England) beat Iain Sydie and Brent Olynyk (Canada) 15-3, 15-7
Victo Wibowo and Lee Wei-Jen (Taiwan) beat Chen Hong and Chen Wei (China) 15-13, 15-13
Chew Choon Eng and Lee Wan Wah (Malaysia) beat Kenny Middlemiss and Russell Hogg (Scotland) 15-6, 7-15, 15-1
Flandy Limpele and Eng Hian (Indonesia) beat Tony Cole and Adrian Casey (England) 15-6, 15-6

Third Round
Cheah S.K. and Choong T.F. beat Fischer and Oedum 15-9, 15-6
Ha T.K. and Kim D.M. beat Subagja and Mainaky 15-8, 17-15
C. Wijaya and T. Gunawan beat Archer and N. Robertson 15-7, 9-15, 15-6
J. Eriksen and J. Larsen beat Chen Q. and Wang W. 15-6, 15-7
Chan C.M. and J. Gan beat Lens and Van Dalm 15-9, 15-5
Lee D.S. and Yoo Y.S. beat M. Sogaard and J. Laugessen 15-9, 15-8
Wibowo and Lee W.J. beat C. Hunt and J. Robertson 15-10, 15-17, 15-13
Chew C.E. and Lee W.W. beat Limpele and E. Hian 8-15, 15-12, 17-14

Women's Doubles
Second Round
Qin Yiyuan and Gao Ling (China) beat Helene Kirkegaard and Pernille Harder (Denmark) 15-5, 15-3
Joanne Goode and Donna Kellogg (England) beat Kanako Yonekura and Chihiro Ohsaka (Japan) 15-11, 15-7
Huang Sui and Lu Ying (China) beat Joanne Davies and Sarah Hardaker (England) 15-8, 15-8
Mette Schjoldager and Ann-Lou Jorgensen (Denmark) beat Denyse Julien and Charmaine Reid (Canada) 15-6, 15-8
Gail Emms and Joanne Wright (England) beat Erica Van Den Heuvel and Lonneke Janssen (Netherland) 10-15, 15-9, 15-8
Ann Jorgensen and Rikke Olsen (Denmark) beat Etty Tantri and Cinthia Tuwankotta (Indonesia) 15-5, 15-6
Ra Kyung Min and Chung Jae Hee (Korea) beat Hiromi Yamada and Naomi Murakami (Japan) 15-8, 15-3
Lee Hyo Jung and Lee Soon Deuk (Korea) beat Robbyn Hermitage and Milaine Cloutier (Canada) 15-7, 15-10

Mixed Doubles
Second Round
Bambang Suprianto and Rosiana Zelin (Indonesia) beat Michael Lamp and Mette Schjoldager (Denmark) 15-9, 15-9
Jon Holst-Christensen and Ann Jorgensen (Denmark) beat Ian Sullivan and Gail Emms (England) 15-5, 15-4
Kim Dong Moon and Ra Kyung Min (Korea) beat Chris Hunt and Donna Kellogg (England) 15-9, 15-7
Simon Archer and Joanne Goode (England) beat Janek Roos and Helene Kirkegaard (Denmark) 15-13, 15-5
Ha Tae Kwon and Chung Jae Hee (Korea) beat Brent Olynyk and Robbyn Hermitage (Canada) 15-5, 15-10
Lars Paaske and Jane Bramsen (Denmark) beat Quinten Van Dalm and Erica Van Den Heuvel (Netherland) 15-8, 15-12
Trikus Heryanto and Minarti Timur (Indonesia) beat Martin Lundgaard and Pernille Harder (Denmark) 15-11, 15-10
Michael Sogaard and Rikke Olsen (Denmark) beat Joachim Tesche and Wiebke Schrempf (Germany) 15-3, 15-6


Posted With The Permission Of The Copyright Holder.

** HELP!!! Keep NEW SHUTTLENWS going - BUY our sponsor's products. **