** HELP!!! Keep NEW SHUTTLENWS going - BUY our sponsor's products. **

Japan Open: Gade, Sun Jun Move Ahead

** This NEW SHUTTLENWS report is presented by YANG YANG Badminton Products and their Western USA agents BADMINTON ALLEY. **

April 7, 1999 (NEW SHUTTLENWS) - Peter Gade of Denmark, badminton's player of the year and the sport's top-rated men's singles player, easily moved into the third round of the Japan Open championships in Tokyo with an untroubled 15-8 and 15-4 victory today over Bruce Flockhart of Scotland. Gade was joined in the next round by China's Sun Jun who also had an easy day. Sun breezed past Liu En-horng of Taiwan 15-4 and 15-3.

Four favorites in the men's singles event fell in today's action. Dong Jiong of China was beaten by Chien Yu-Hsiu of Taiwan 10-15 and 12-15, Yong Hock Kin of Malaysia lost to Korea's Ahn Jae Chang 17-14, 10-15 and 7-15, China's Chen Gang was upended by Keita Masuda of Japan 15-4, 11-15 and 2-15, and Hendrawan of Indonesia was defeated by Luo Yigang of China 15-8, 11-15 and 1-15.

World men's singles champion Peter Rasmussen of Denmark moved another step closer towards qualifying for the upcoming world championships. He won his second round match today over Chen Wei of China 15-5, 10-15 and 15-12.

The USA's Ardy Wiranata was defeated by 1995 world champion Heryanto Arbi of Indonesia 10-15, 15-9 and 6-15.

Women's singles top-seed Dai Yun of China was not able to play her scheduled second-round match today due to injury. She had drawn a bye in the opening round.

Following are unofficial results of some of today's matches:
Men's Singles
Second Round
Peter Gade Christensen (Denmark) beat Bruce Flockhart (Scotland) 15-8, 15-4
Chien Yu-hsiu (Taiwan) beat Dong Jiong (China) 15-10, 15-12
Ahn Jae Chang (Korea) beat Yong Hock Kin (Malaysia) 14-17, 15-10, 15-7
Johan Hadikusuma (Indonesia) beat Shinji Ota (Japan) 15-4, 15-9
Budi Santoso (Indonesia) beat Shinosuke Murata (Japan) 15-8, 15-3
Wong Choong Hann (Malaysia) beat Kazuhiro Shimogami (Japan) 15-8, 15-5
Keita Masuda (Japan) beat Chen Gang (China) 4-15, 15-11, 15-2
Marleve Mainaky (Indonesia) beat Wu Chun-sheng (Taiwan) 15-3, 15-7
Ong Ewe Hock (Malaysia) beat Tsutomu Kinjo (Japan) 15-3, 15-4
Luo Yigang (China) beat Hendrawan (Indonesia) 8-15, 15-11, 15-1
Rosobin Jeffer (Indonesia) beat Lee Hyun Il (Korea) 15-13, 15-9
Sun Jun (China) beat Liu En-horng (Taiwan) 15-4, 15-3
Heryanto Arbi (Indonesia) beat Ardy Wiranata (USA) 15-10, 9-15, 15-6
Peter Rasmussen (Denmark) beat Chen Wei (China) 15-5, 10-15, 15-12
Chen Hong (China) beat Fumihiko Machida (Japan) 15-3, 15-11
Boonsak Polsana (Thailand) beat Shinya Otsuka (Japan) 15-11, 11-15, 15-4
Mixed Doubles
First Round
Kim Dong-Moon and Ra Kyung-Min (Korea) beat Koji Miya and Yoshiko Tago (Japan) 15-5, 15-5
Yasunori Sekine and Kaori Saito (Japan) beat Satoshi Noguchi and Sumiyo Kanno (Japan) 15-3, 15-6
Bambang Suprianto and Minarti Timur (Indonesia) beat Chen Qiqiu and Huang Nanyan (China) 15-7, 15-3
Keita Masuda and Naomi Murakami (Japan) beat Andrej Pohar and Maja Pohar (Slovenia) 15-4, 15-6
Jung Sung Gyun and Jun Woul Sik (Korea) beat Takuya Katayama and Yoshiko Iwata (Japan) 15-11, 17-14
Takashi Okuda and Mitsue Tomita (Japan) beat Simone Vincenzi and Maria Luise Mur (Italy) 15-2, 15-6
Liu Yong and Ge Fei (China) beat Fumitake Shimizu and Fujimi Tamura (Japan) 15-3, 15-7
Hideki Yoshioka and Ayako Goto (Japan) beat Pang Cheh Chang and Lim Pek Siah (Malaysia) 15-3, 17-14
Chen Gang and Zhang Ning (China) beat Tatsuya Hirai and Izumi Kida (Japan) 15-6, 15-8
Imam Tohari and Vita Marisa (Indonesia) beat Chan Chong Ming and Joanne Quay (Malaysia) 15-13, 12-15, 15-8
Seiichi Watanabe and Haruko Matsuda (Japan) beat Allan Nielsen (Denmark) and Miki Ichihashi (Japan) 15-8, 15-3
Ha Tae Kwon and Chung Jae Hee (Korea) beat Kenichi Sakita and Kana Yasuda (Japan) 15-5, 15-6
Hiroshi Oyama and Naomi Kawaguchi (Japan) beat Choi Min Ho and Jung Yeon Kyung (Korea) 15-8, 14-17, 15-11
Zhang Jun and Yang Wei (China) beat Shigeru Fukuda and Keiko Yoshitomi (Japan) 15-3, 15-4
Fumihiko Machida and Yasuko Mizui (Japan) beat Tesana Panvisvas and Saralee Thungthongkam (Thailand) 15-13, 15-5
Wahyu Agung and Ema Ermawati (Indonesia) beat Shoji Sato and Mariko Yamada (Japan) 15-4, 15-2
Women's Singles
Second Round
Satomi Igawa (Japan) beat Dai Yun (China) walkover
Hiroko Nagamine (Japan) beat Asuka Kuge (Japan) 11-1, 7-11, 11-6
Gong Zhichao (China) beat Shizuka Yamamoto (Japan) 11-3, 11-1
Kaori Mori (Japan) beat Tomoko Nakayama (Japan) 10-13, 11-9, 11-8
Zhou Mi (China) beat Maiko Naka (Japan) 11-7, 11-4
Sujitra Ekmongkolpaisarn (Thailand) beat Chihiro Osaka (Japan) 11-8, 11-4
Miho Tanaka (Japan) beat Ellen Angelina (Indonesia) walkover
Kim Ji-Hyun (Korea) beat Rie Ichihashi (Japan) 11-1, 11-0
Mayumi Ito (Japan) beat Machiko Yoneya (Japan) 7-11, 11-8, 11-5
Zhang Ning (China) beat Kanako Yonekura (Japan) 11-7, 13-12
Kyoko Komuro (Japan) beat Lee Hyo-Jung (Korea) 11-5, 9-11, 13-10
Ye Zhaoying (China) beat Fumi Iwawaki (Japan) 11-1, 11-1
Maja Pohar (Slovenia) beat Miho Harutake (Japan) 11-6, 11-3
Yasuko Mizui (Japan) beat Miyo Akao (Japan) 11-4, 11-6
Takako Ida (Japan) beat Yae Takano (Japan) 11-2, 11-9
Gong Ruina (China) beat Keiko Takeno (Japan) 11-2, 11-6


Posted With The Permission Of The Copyright Holder.

** HELP!!! Keep NEW SHUTTLENWS going - BUY our sponsor's products. **