** HELP!!! Keep NEW SHUTTLENWS going - BUY our sponsor's products. **

Malaysian Open: New World Champions Win Openers

** This NEW SHUTTLENWS report is presented by YANG YANG Badminton Products and The Best Badminton Camp on the U.S. East Coast - the 1999 George Washington University Badminton Camp. **

June 30, 1999 (NEW SHUTTLENWS) - Newly crowned badminton world champions Sun Jun of China and Camilla Martin of Denmark resumed their winning ways today after a month-long break following the world championships in late May. At the Malaysian Open in Shah Alam, Selangor, Sun, the world men's singles titleholder, beat Chung Pei Wei of Malaysia 15-9 and 15-8, while Martin, the world women's singles champion, defeated Ellen Angelina of Indonesia 11-1 and 11-5 in first round action.

Peter Gade of Denmark, the men's singles top-seed at the tournament and still ranked as world number one, also was a first-round winner. He beat India's Nikhil Kanetkar 15-0 and 15-7.

World men's singles silver medalist Fung Permadi of Taiwan took one game to get his timing and stroke back as he dropped the first set to Ramesh Nathan of Malaysia 9-15. In the second and third games though, Permadi steamrollered the Malaysian player 15-3 and 15-4 to go through to the second round.

Two minor upsets marked the first day of action in the singles events. Cindana Hartono Kusuma of Indonesia, the women's singles fifth seed, went down to Chan Ya Lin of Taiwan 5-11 and 3-11, while Peter Janum of Denmark, the fifteenth seed, lost to Irwansyah of Indonesia 8-15 and 10-15.

Following are results from today's first round singles matches:

Men's Singles
Peter Gade (Denmark) beat Nikhil Kanetkar (India) 15-0 15-7
Ji Xinpeng (China) beat Sairul Amar Ayob (Malaysia) 12-15 15-13 15-7
Mohd. Roslin Hashim (Malaysia) beat Craig Robertson (Scotland) 15-4 15-7
Siew Yian Wai (Malaysia) beat Moo Kok Hsiung (Malaysia) 15-2 15-12
Ong Ewe Hock (Malaysia) beat Rehan Khan (Germany) 15-7 15-4
Yudi Suprayodi (Indonesia) beat Keishi Kawaguchi (Japan) 17-16 15-6
Dong Jiong (China) beat Mohd. Hafix Hashim (Malaysia) 3-15 15-11 15-7
Jason Wong (Malaysia) beat Thomas Sogaard (Denmark) 17-15 15-5
Fung Permadi (Taiwan) beat Ramesh Nathan (Malaysia) 9-15 15-3 15-4
Xia Xuanze (China) beat Alan Yang (Australia) 15-7 15-4
Wong Choon Hann (Malaysia) beat Neils Christian Kaldau (Denmark) 15-2 15-5
Bjorn Joppien (Germany) beat Gan Teik Chan (Malaysia) 17-14 15-5
Chen Gang (China) beat Michael Edge (England) 15-7 15-3
Park Tae Sang (South Korea) beat Yap Yong Jyen (Malaysia) 15-12 15-6
Rony Agustinus (Indonesia) beat P. Kantharoopan (Malaysia) 15-10 15-6
Lee Hyun Il (South Korea) beat Boonsak Polsana (Thailand) 9-15 15-4 15-2
Alvin Chew (Malaysia) beat Conrad Huckstadt (Germany) 15-5 15-6
Jeffer Rosobin (Indonesia) beat Bruce Flockhart (Scotland) 15-4 15-4
Chen Wei (China) beat Boris Kessov (Bulgaria) 15-10 15-6
Rashid Sidek (Malaysia) beat Richard Doling (England) 15-2 15-2
Chien Yu Hsiu (Taiwan) beat Ahmad Maabus Anuar (Malaysia) 15-2 15-7
Chen Hong (China) beat Yeoh Kay Bin (Malaysia) 15-8 15-1
Abhinn Shyam Gupta (India) beat Ismail Saman (Malaysia) 15-3 12-15 15-8
Peter Rasmussen (Denmark) beat Ian Maywald (Germany) 15-10 15-6
Luo Yigang (China) beat Bertrand Gallet (France) 15-2 15-5
Irwansyah (Indonesia) beat Peter Janum (Denmark) 15-8 15-10
Roland Susilo (Singapore) beat Jens Roch (Germany) 15-4 15-5
Yong Hock Kin (Malaysia) beat Anupap Thiraratsakul (Thailand) 15-9 15-5
Lee Tsuen Seng (Malaysia) beat Mohd. Zakry Abdul Latif (Malaysia) 15-6 15-9
Pullela Gopichand (India) beat Allan Tai (Malaysia) 15-9 5-15 15-3
Ahn Jae Chang (South Korea) beat James Chua (Malaysia) 15-17 15-2 15-8
Sun Jun (China) beat Chung Pei Wei (Malaysia) 15-9 15-8

Women's Singles
Camilla Martin (Denmark) beat Ellen Angelina (Indonesia) 11-1 11-5
Ng Mee Fen (Malaysia) beat Justine Willmott (England) 7-11 11-5 11-3
Zhou Mi (China) beat Sathinee Chankrachangwong (Thailand) 11-0 11-5
Kaori Mori (Japan) beat Petra Overzier (Germany) 11-2 11-3
Gong Ruina (China) beat Sonya Mcginn (Scotland) 11-3 11-3
Lidya Djaelawijaya (Indonesia) beat Lee Yin Yin (Malaysia) 11-3 11-7
Huang Chia Chi (Taiwan) beat Sandra Dimbour (France) 11-3 11-1
Zeng Yaqiong (China) beat Li Li (Singapore) 11-8 11-5
Yao Jie (China) beat Sandra Watt (Scotland) 11-1 11-5
Chan Ya Lin (Taiwan) beat Cindana Hartono Kusuma (Indonesia) 11-5 11-3
Machiko Yoneya (Japan) beat Julia Mann (England) 11-3 11-6
Zhang Ning (China) beat Wong Miau Choo (Malaysia) 11-1 11-4
Aparna Popat (India) beat Anu Weckstrom (Finland) 11-1 11-4
Kelly Morgan (Wales) beat Lee Kyung Won (Korea) 5-11 11-2 11-1
Wong Sze Mei (Malaysia) beat Neelima Choudhary (India) 11-5 11-2
Dai Yun (China) beat Sujitra Ekmongkolpaisarn (Thailand) 11-9 11-5


Posted With The Permission Of The Copyright Holder.