** HELP!!! Keep NEW SHUTTLENWS going - BUY our sponsor's products. **

Thailand Open: Sidek Gets Even

** This NEW SHUTTLENWS report is presented by YANG YANG Badminton Products and their Ontario (Canada) agents - SHAH Enterprises **

July 7, 1999 (NEW SHUTTLENWS) - Rashid Sidek of Malaysia got even with new Malaysian Open men's singles champion Luo Yigang of China today in the third round of the Thailand Open in Bangkok. Sidek, who had been humbled by Luo in the semifinals of the Malaysian Open last Saturday by a score of 3-15 and 3-15, came back from poorly played first and second games today to edge out the Chinese player 4-15, 15-13 and 15-11.

M. Roslin Hashim, Sidek's teammate and fellow semifinalist at the Malaysian Open, failed to make it into the next stage. Hashim who upended world number one Peter Gade of Denmark last week was beaten today by Chinese second-teamer Ji Xinpeng 11-15, 15-4 and 10-15.

Men's singles top seed and world champion Sun Jun of China moved ahead into the round-of-16 with a 15-6 and 15-2 victory over Ronald Susilo of Singapore, while second seed Fung Permadi of Taiwan defeated Lee Hyun Il of Korea 15-7 and 15-3.

Men's singles world number Peter Gade is also competing in Bangkok but not in his speciality. Gade is entered in the men's doubles with fellow Dane Jesper Larsen. They are seeded eighth.

Following are the seedings for the Thailand Open:

Men's Singles
1. Sun Jun (China), 2. Fung Permadi (Taiwan), 3. Chen Gang (China), 4. Rashid Sidek (Malaysia), 5. Yong Hock Kin (Malaysia), 6. Dong Jiong (China), 7. Chen Hong (China), 8. M. Roslin Hashim, 9. Jeffer Rosobin (Indonesia), 10. Ronny Agustinus (Indonesia), 11. Peter Janum (Denmark), 12. Pulella Gopichand (India), 13. Ahn Jae Chang (Korea), 14. Bruce Flockhart (Scotland), 15. Ismail Saman (Malaysia), 16. Boonsak Polsana (Thailand)

Women's Singles
1. Dai Yun (China), 2. Gong Tuina (China), 3. Zhang Ning (China), 4. Zhou Mi (China), 5. Huang Chia Chi (Taiwan), 6. Lee Kyung Won (Korea), 7. Sujitra Ekmongkolpaisarn (Thailand), 8. Aparna Popat (India)

Men's Doubles
1. Zhang Wei and Zhang Jun (China),2. Victo Wibowo and Lee Wei Jen (Taiwan), 3. Michael Sogaard and Jim Laugesen (Denmark), 4. Alastair Gatt and Craig Robertson (Scotland), 5. Pramote Teerawiwatana and Tesana Panvisvas (Thailand), 6. Rosman Razak and Chew Choon Eng (Malaysia), 7. Aman Santosa and Patrick Lau K.P. (Singapore), 8. Jesper Larsen and Peter Gade (Denmark)

Women's Doubles
1. Qin Yiyuan and Gao Ling (China), 2. Sujitra Ekmongkolpaisarn and Saralee Thunthongkam (Thailand), 3. Helene Kirkegaard and Rikke Olsen (Denmark), 4. Mette Schjoldager and Ann-Lou Jorgensen (Denmark)

Mixed Doubles
1. Liu Yong and Ge Fei (China), 2. Michael Sogaard and Rikke Olsen (Denmark), 3. Wahyu Agung and Emma Ermawati (Indonesia), 4. Janek Roos and Helene Kirkegaard (Denmark), 5. Jesper Larsen and Ann-Lou Jorgensen (Denmark), 6. Chen Qiqiu and Huang Sui (China), 7. Ian Sullivan and Gail Emms (England), 8. Imam Tohari and Vita Marisa (Indonesia)

Following are some of the results to-date.

Men's Singles
Second Round (played Tuesday)
Sun Jun (China) beat Robert Blair (Scotland) 15-3, 15-2
Ronald Susilo (Singapore) beat Karavee Hongpoe (Thailand) 15-7, 15-6
Peter Janum (Denmark) beat Abhinn Shyam Gupta (India) 15-8, 15-6
M. Roslin Hashim (Malaysia) beat Chien Yu Hsiu (Taiwan) 16-17, 15-4, 15-8
Ji Xinpeng (China) beat Sirawat Panpatchara (Thailand) 15-5, 15-5
Ahn Jae Chang (Korea) beat Mike Joppien (Germany) 15-5, 15-2
Steve Isaac (England) beat Natapol Sarawan (Thailand) 15-5, 15-2
Rashid Sidek (Malaysia) beat Nikhil Kanetkar (India) 15-3, 15-6
Luo Yigang (China) beat Shon Sheung Mo (Korea) 15-2, 15-3
Hideki Yamada (Japan) beat Bertrand Gallet (France) 13-15, 15-11, 15-6
Dong Jiong (China) beat Jason Wong (Malaysia) 15-11, 15-11
Anupharb Teeraratsakul (Thailand) beat Thomas Sogaard (Denmark) 15-7, 15-8
Yong Hock Kin (Malaysia) beat Jakrapan Thanathiratham (Thailand) 15-13, 15-10
Chen Gang (China) beat Niels Christian Kaldau (Denmark) 15-5, 15-8
Chen Hong (China) beat Graham Simpson (England) 15-3, 15-2
Sirachai Panpatchara beat Bruce Flockhart (Scotland) by walkover

Third Round (played today)
Sun Jun (China) beat Ronald Susilo (Singapore) 15-6, 15-2
Peter Janum (Denmark) beat Yudi Suprayogi (Indonesia) 15-12, 15-6
Ji Xinpeng (China) beat M. Roslin Hashim (Malaysia) 15-11, 4-15, 15-10
Ahn Jae Chang (Korea) beat Steve Isaac (England) 13-15, 15-6, 15-10
Rashid Sidek (Malaysia) beat Luo Yigang (China) 4-15, 15-13, 15-11
Sirachai Panpatchara (Thailand) beat Hideki Yamada (Japan) 15-7, 15-11
Dong Jiong (China) beat Michael Edge (England) 15-8, 15-7
Rony Agustinus (Indonesia) beat Anupap Thiraratsakul (Thailand) 15-11, 15-5
Chen Wei (China) beat Boonsak Polsana (Thailand) 15-4, 15-12
Park Tae Sang (Korea) beat Yong Hock Kin (Malaysia) by walkover
Yap Yong Jyen (Malaysia) beat Jeffer Rosobin (Indonesia) 15-10, 7-15, 15-8
Chen Gang (China) beat Jens Roch (Germany) 15-3, 15-6
Pullela Gopichand (India) beat Krid Chuaynarong (Thailand) 15-10, 15-11
Chen Hong (China) beat Ayub Sairul Amar (Malaysia) 15-9, 15-13
Xia Xuanze (China) beat Ismail Saman (Malaysia) 15-6, 15-10
Fung Permadi (Taiwan) beat Lee Hyun Il (Korea) 15-7, 15-3

Women's Singles
Second Round (played today)
Dai Yun (China) beat Orathai Lapleungthong (Thailand) 11-1, 11-3
Chen Wei Hsing (Taiwan) beat Kulsiri Pimjaisai (Thailand) 11-3, 11-13, 11-7
Sujitra Ekmongkolpaisarn (Thailand) beat Sonya McGinn (Scotland) 11-0, 11-0
Zeng Yaqiong (China) beat Lee Hyo Jung (Korea) 11-7, 11-5
Zhou Mi beat Chan Ya Lin (Taiwan) 12-13, 11-0, 11-5
Duanganong Arunkesorn (Thailand) Agnese Allegrini (Italy) 11-5, 11-9
Nucharin Teekhatrakul (Thailand) beat Mika Anjo (Japan) 11-9, 11-9
Sathinee Chankrachangwong (Thailand) beat Anne Hoenscheid (Germany) 11-3, 11-3
Lee Kyung Won (Korea) beat Justine Wilmott (England) 11-6, 11-1
Zhang Ning (China) beat Sandra Watt (Scotland) 11-0, 11-2


Posted With The Permission Of The Copyright Holder.