** HELP!!! Keep NEW SHUTTLENWS going - BUY our sponsor's products. **

Singapore Open: Malaysians Show World Champions The Door

** This NEW SHUTTLENWS report is presented by YANG YANG Badminton Products and their Ontario (Canada) agents - SHAH Enterprises **

August 26, 1999 (NEW SHUTTLENWS) - Malaysian doubles players Lee Wan Wah and Choong Tan Fook sent a shock wave through the Konica Cup - Singapore Open badminton championships today when they knocked the current world champions Kim Dong Moon and Ha Tae Kwon out of the competition with a 9-15, 15-7 and 15-10 upset victory. The unexpected Malaysian triumph was but one of several stunners in today's matches.

Another current world champion was also forced to exit this afternoon. Camilla Martin of Denmark who captured the world title this past May was eliminated by Asian Games gold medalist Kaneko Yonekura of Japan 6-11 and 4-11.

In the men's singles competition, Fung Permadi of Taiwan, the silver medalist at the recent world championships and the second-seeded player at the tourney, was beaten by Heryanto Arbi of Indonesia 15-14 and 15-4, while in mixed doubles, the second-seeded pairing of Simon Archer and Joanne Goode of England fell to Jens Eriksen and Mette Schjoldager of Denmark 15-9 and 15-9.

In the Permadi-Arbi match, both players had opportunities to take the close first game but Permadi made several key mistakes, sending the shuttle into the net to gift Arbi with several scores including the game winning point. In the second set, Permadi raced to a quick 5-0 lead but then began to lose his touch at the net. Arbi was able to overhaul the Taiwanese player's advantage and took command of the game with 13 straight points.

Permadi tried to mount a comeback but could only score three more points. With the score at 14-8, Arbi induced Permadi into a very short reply which the Indonesian player then smashed for the match-winner.

There was some controversy in the men's singles match between Malaysia's Ong Ewe Hock and Denmark's Kenneth Jonassen. After a netshot exchange in the second set, Ong complained that Jonassen's racket had gone over the net. The controvery raged on for several minutes and the umpire had to call in the tournament referee to help resolve the situation.

Ong who had won first set 15-5 and was ahead in the second game at that time then lost his focus and the Dane was able to come back to force a third stanza with a 15-14 second set victory.

During the five-minute break before the decider, Ong was able to calm down and regain his concentration. He then went on to dominate the play and won the third game handily 15-6.

Following are the scores of some of today's matches (number before player's name indicates seeding):

Men's Singles
Third Round
1-Peter Gade (Denmark) beat 9-Rashid Sidek (Malaysia) 15-7, 15-8
5-Budi Santoso (Indonesia) beat James Chua (Malaysia) 15-4, 15-1
Marleve Mainaky (Indonesia) beat Boonsak Polsana (Thailand) 15-4, 15-5
8-Taufik Hidayat (Indonesia) beat 13-M. Roslin Hashim (Malaysia) 15-10, 15-5
6-Hendrawan (Indonesia) beat 11-Luo Yigang (China) 15-6, 15-12
3-Poul-Erik Hoyer (Denmark) beat 12-Thomas Johanssen (Denmark) 10-15, 17-14, 15-12
7-Ong Ewe Hock (Malaysia) beat 10-Kenneth Jonassen (Denmark) 15-5, 14-15, 15-6
16-Hariyanto Arbi (Indonesia) beat 2-Fung Permadi (Taiwan) 15-14, 15-4

Women's Singles
Second Round
1-Camilla Martin (Denmark) beat Melissa Soegeng (Singapore) 11-0, 11-0
Kanako Yonekura (Japan) beat Xie Xinfang (China) 2-11, 13-12, 13-12
8-Lee Kyung Won (Korea) beat Brenda Beenhakker (Netherland) 11-6, 11-7
Margit Borg (Sweden) beat Sujitra Ekmongkolpaisarn (Thailand) walkover
3-Gong Zhichao (China) beat Miho Tanaka (Japan) 11-3, 11-3
Aparna Popat (India) beat Nicole Grether (Germany) 11-4, 11-4
7-Huang Chia Chi (China) beat Xiao Luxi (Singapore) 11-2, 11-3
Ng Mee Fen (Malaysia) beat Yuli Marfuah (Indonesia) 11-8, 11-2
Fatimah Kumin Lim (Singapore) beat Wei Yan (China) 11-7, 11-9
6-Yasuko Mizui (Japan) beat Mette Pedersen (Denmark) 13-11, 11-1
Judith Meulendijks (Netherland) beat Foo Shui Yen (Singapore) 11-1, 11-0
4-Kelly Morgan (Wales) beat Chan Ya Lin (Taiwan) 11-4, 11-5
Woon Sze Mei (Malaysia) beat Manjusha Kanwar (India) 11-9, 11-1
5-Mette Sorensen (Denmark) beat Helka Schoenharting (Germany) 11-3, 11-3
Takako Ida (Japan) beat Si Jin Sun (Korea) 13-11, 8-11, 11-4
2-Ye Zhaoying (China) beat Karoline Ericsson (Sweden) 11-2, 11-1
Third Round
Kanako Yonekura (Japan) beat 1-Camilla Martin (Denmark) 11-6, 11-4
8-Lee Kyung Won (Korea) beat Margit Borg (Sweden)11-3, 11-6
3-Gong Zhichao (China) beat Aparna Popat (India) 11-3, 11-6
Ng Mee Fen (Malaysia) beat 7-Huang Chia Chi (Taiwan) 8-11, 11-2, 11-6
6-Yasuko Mizui (Japan) beat Fatimah Kumin Lim (Singapore) 11-1, 11-3
4-Kelly Morgan (Wales) beat Judith Meulendijks (Netherland) 11-4, 11-8
5-Mette Sorensen (Denmark) beat Woon Sze Mei (Malaysia) beat 11-7, 9-11, 11-4
2-Ye Zhaoying (China) beat Takako Ida (Japan) 11-3, 11-1

Men's Doubles
Third Round
Choong Tan Fook and Lee Wan Wah (Malaysia) beat 1-Ha Tae Kwon and Kim Dong Moon (Korea) 9-15, 15-7, 15-10
6-Pramote Teerawiwatana and Tesana Panvisvas (Thailand) beat Ng Kean Kok and Teo Kok Seng (Malaysia) 15-8, 17-15
8-Michael Sogaard and Jim Laugesen (Denmark) beat Rosman Razak and Chew Choon Eng (Malaysia) 15-12, 15-10
7-Ricky Subagja and Rexy Mainaky (Indonesia) beat Yuzo Kubota and Takuya Katayama (Japan) 15-6, 15-4
4-Jens Eriksen and Jesper Larsen (Denmark) beat Hadi Saputra and Endra Mulyajaya (Indonesia) 15-11, 15-9
3-Lee Dong Soo and Yoo Yong Sung (Korea) beat Chris Hunt and Julian Robertson (England) 15-3, 15-7
2-Chandra Wijaya and Tony Gunawan (Indonesia) beat Cheng Rui and Wang Wei (China) 15-3, 15-6

Women's Doubles
Second Round
1-Huang Nanyan and Yang Wei (China) beat Fatimah Kumin Lim and Xiao Luxi (Singapore) 15-6, 15-0
6-Helene Kirkegaard and Rikkie Olsen (Denmark) beat Lee Kyung Won and Si Jin Sun (Korea) 15-4, 15-3
3-Joanne Goode and Donna Kellogg (England) beat Yim Kyun Jin and Lee Hyo Jung (Korea) 15-6, 15-12
Mette Schjoldager and Ann-Lou Jorgensen (Denmark) beat Karen Stechmann and Nicole Grether (Germany) 15-13, 15-3
Indarti Isolina and Carmelita (Indonesia) beat Chen Li Chin and Tsai Hui Min (Taiwan) 15-4, 6-15, 15-4
4-Ann Jorgensen and Majken Vange (Denmark) beat Xie Xingfang and Wei Yan (China) 15-5, 15-3
Chen Lin and Jiang Xuelian (China) beat 7-Haruko Matsuda and Yoshiko Iwata (Japan) 15-3, 9-15, 15-5
2-Ra Kyung Min and Chung Jae Hee (Korea) beat Joanne Davies and Sarah Hardaker (England) 15-5, 15-3

Mixed Doubles
Second Round
1-Kim Dong Moon and Ra Kyung Min (Korea) beat Ruud Kuitjen and Manon Albinus (Belgium) 15-6, 15-4
7-Michael Keck and Nicol Pitro (Germany) beat Takuya Katayama and Yoshiko Iwata (Japan) 15-3, 15-2
4-Jon Holst-Christensen and Ann Jorgensen (Denmark) beat Lee Dong Soo and Lee Hyo Jung (Korea) 15-5, 15-4
Khunakorn Sudhisodhi and Saralee Thungthongkam (Thailand) beat Lee Wei Jen and Tsai Hui Min (Taiwan) 15-1, 17-15, 15-5
Deng Chuanhai and Chen Li (China) beat Fumihiko Machida and Yasuko Mizui (Japan) 15-11, 15-8
3-Michael Sogaard and Rikke Olsen (Denmark) beat Frederik Bergstrom and Jenny Karlsson (Sweden) 15-7, 15-3
5-Chris Bruil and Erica van den Heuvel (Netherland) beat Yuzo Kubota and Haruko Matsuda (Japan) 15-11, 8-15, 15-8
Jens Eriksen and Mette Schjoldager (Denmark) beat 2-Simon Archer and Joanne Goode (England) 15-9, 15-9

1-Kim Dong Moon and Ra Kyung Min (Korea) beat 7-Michael Keck and Nicol Pitro (Germany) 15-4, 15-4
4-Jon Holst-Christensen and Ann Jorgensen (Denmark) beat Khunakorn Sudhisodhi and Saralee Thungthongkam (Thailand) walkover
3-Michael Sogaard and Rikke Olsen (Denmark) beat Deng Chuan Hai and Chen Lin (China) 15-9, 15-8
5-Chris Bruil and Erica Van Den Heuvel (Netherland) beat Jens Eriksen and Mette Schjoldager (Denmark) 15-13, 15-8


Posted With The Permission Of The Copyright Holder.